Our Core Values: Special Committee

On 10 June 2020,  the U.S. Naval Academy Alumni Association took the actions encompassed in our statement on  “Our Core Values”. We reaffirmed our values and commitment to steer away from racism, bigotry and sexism in our Alumni Association. We established a Special Committee to review our Alumni Association programs and policies in this regard.  We are pleased to announce the members of that Special Committee: 

  • Lieutenant General David Beydler ’81, USMC (Ret.), co-chair
  • Captain Karin Vernazza ’90, USN (Ret.), co-chair
  • Matice Wright-Springer ’88, co-chair
  • Alonzo Barber ’97
  • Rear Admiral Julius Caesar ’77, USN (Ret.)
  • Rear Admiral A.B. Cruz ’80, USN (Ret.)
  • Carlos Del Toro ’83
  • George O’Garro ’05
  • Captain Barbette Lowndes ’80, USN (Ret.)
  • Janie Mines ’80  

The Special Committee will review our Alumni Association mission and vision, and our volunteer leader processes, and report its initial findings at a meeting of the Board of Trustees in September. The Special Committee will collaborate with the Executive Committee of the Board in this effort. The members of the Executive Committee include:

  • Admiral Sam Locklear ’77, USN (Ret.), chair
  • Lieutenant General David Beydler ’81, USMC (Ret.), vice chair*
  • Byron F. Marchant ’78,
  • Commander William Squires ’75 USNR (Ret.)
  • Commander Steve Hall ’75, USN (Ret.)
  • George O’Garro ’05*
  • Steve Comiskey ’69
  • Tim Wolf ’87
  • Captain Karin Vernazza ’90, USN (Ret.)*
  • Commander Richard Cataldi ’69, USN (Ret.)

The Special Committee continues to request your input and comments to: alumnifeedback@usna.com.

Admiral Sam Locklear ’77, USN (Ret.)
Chair, U.S. Naval Academy Alumni Association Board of Trustees

Byron Marchant ’78,
President and CEO, U.S. Naval Academy Alumni Association 

* Denotes members of both the executive committee and the special committee.